Take Back Teal News & Ramblings


Well, all, I’m happy to say that I’m about to send my check for the Turn it Teal Tuesday Challenge cards and many of you have expressed interested in receiving some. Because they are a test batch, I will only be distributing a few samples to each of you to see how it goes. Measuring the effectiveness of these types of campaigns is difficult, but I will try to create some unofficial metric based upon likes, etc.

Ultimately, though, I have to say that I’m truly sad to report some disappointing news to the ovarian cancer community and beyond. While I’ve always believed that teamwork is what ovarian cancer needs to succeed in raising awareness to the level of breast cancer, I received a very surprising phone call last night from the president of an organization that I actually blogged about some time ago. Their movement is very unique and effective: They started tying teal ribbons around trees during the month of September. This novel idea has spread to many states around the country. As a matter of fact, I still have photos my mother took when I told her about this project years ago (my mother was a photographer)…she was so excited about this campaign. She and my father even took a ride around a lake in Watchung, NJ, to see how pretty the trees looked for ovarian cancer awareness month.

The woman emailed me at takebackteal@gmail.com and requested a phone call. I was so excited and honored to be contacted by her, since their group has been so successful and changed many lives.  I was looking forward to hearing what she had to say.

Sadly, the woman called me to tell me that she, her board, and her lawyer, thought the name of my Turn it Teal Tuesday Challenge was “too close for comfort” for them, since they have trademarked their “Turn the Towns Teal” name. They requested that I change it.  I explained that the premise of my mission is to raise awareness through fashion (“Fashion for a cause – because doing good never goes out of style”..ha, that will be on the cards!), my campaign goes through the year, and we are working for the same cause – to raise ovarian cancer awareness! But the point of this being a “challenge” is to get people to simply get dressed one day of the week in the color that matters most, step outside of your comfort zone, and talk about ovarian cancer. From what I gathered, she appeared to believe that having similar names “dilutes” their cause.

But in the end, we are working toward the same goal: Raise awareness of ovarian cancer and put it on the map. I hate to use a cliche, but “A rose by any other name is still a rose” and all of us inside and outside of the cancer community fight one thing – cancer! Not each other. It is disappointing that we cannot work together but I do know that through our collective efforts for each of our causes, no matter if the name is trademarked or copyrighted or what have you, we will make a difference for ovarian cancer.Success

The beautiful thing is that Take Back Teal will continue to grow, we will continue to stick by our mission and challenge, and we will keep you in the loop of all the going-ons on our end.   I have been toying with the idea of having a little Skype meet-and-greet, since many of the TBT followers are all around the world and I’m sure it’d be nice to discuss ideas and just say “hi”. Not sure yet, though, since that would take a lot of work right around the holidays, but it’s something to keep in mind.

Don’t forget that we are hosting our HOPE Holiday Party for the Ovarian Cancer Research Fund in January and we will be sure to share our pictures and stories with you. I can’t wait to tell you about the box of goodies they sent me! Post-its, pens, handouts, bookmarks, etc etc…really cool!!  I highly encourage you all to try to host one next year…but really, it seems that one of these can be done at any time! Check out our Pinterest for our party planning ideas.

I also have some exciting author news to tell you and I’d love to discuss a new group, Make it Matter for Cheri, that was formed by one girl to raise awareness for all gynecological cancers.

Best!

PS – I’ll soon be creating a gallery on here with all of the TiTTC photos so far, since not everyone is on Facebook.