Take Back Teal News & Ramblings


It’s me, Sunny, the founder of Take Back Teal and the Turn it Teal Tuesday Challenge. I’m so excited to see the level of interest in TBT and the TiTTC, and I know we are destined to continue to grow.

I’ve been toying with ideas on how to expand our reach and truly become official, and from the get-go I’ve been interested in making TBT an official nonprofit. I’m hoping that within the next month the paperwork and fees will be filed, sent, and hopefully accepted!

I love that TBT incorporates fashion, positivity, and aggression into reaching our goals. When I first came up with the idea, I really believed in being more aggressive toward asking for more funding and equal funding, and I envisioned amassing an entire army of people who also felt slighted by the amount of pink shown for breast cancer. One day, we will uncover the truth about funding inequalities, and I am determined to show how hurtful and harmful this kind of favoritism can be to everyone – cancer-stricken or not.

I am really happy that I’m attracting an audience of all ages. Awareness should start before someone gets sick and the younger you are, the better your chance are at saving yourself from a disease.

I do believe that the best ideas are in a complete state of evolution while maintaining the same core principles and values throughout their growth. I have a mental list of items that are fundamental to TBT’s mission and I hope to draft them and get them up here soon. My next step will be to become takebackteal.com, so it’s a bit more official :). I really am happy that I’ve been able to incorporate fashion into this movement, because it makes people think twice before they put on their clothes in the morning.

I only wish I had more time to devote to TBT but alas, with work and a life outside of this, I can only fit in what I can. What I would love is a guest blogger who can write one post a week, reviewing a current hot news topic for ovarian cancer. I’d like to have a specific ‘angle’ for TBT when we’re not focusing on getting you all to wear your teal for OC…I know I can do it alone, but I’d love to have someone helping me with the writing portion, just once a week.

I’m even more excited that the invite list for the TiTTC keeps growing, as do those who RSVP. I know one day that’ll translate into a huge mass of people who support and understand what we are doing. There are also some wonderful people who provide great feedback and thank-yous for this…that just motivates me to keep working harder.

So, I’ll keep you posted on “what’s next” – I have a lovely co-worker who’s graciously volunteered to create a TBT logo and FB banner for me – how awesome and giving of her! She’s an incredibly talented graphic designer and artist whose ideas are just so unique that I can’t even fathom having that kind of talent. She also always wears teal on Tuesdays  to support the cause. Love!

There’s support everywhere and I couldn’t do any of this without any of you. I can’t wait until TBT becomes an official not-for-profit and we get our own cards and t-shirts :). I have big ideas – and they’re going to be coming to light soon! You guys have the front row seats and I love it!

Thanks all!