“There’s Just No Money”


I’d like to relate a personal story.  When my mom was sick, we lived between NYC and Philadelphia, therefore being lucky enough to have access to some of the best medical care in the country.

She chose to utilize University of Pennsylvania’s Penn Medicine Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Existing within that department is The Penn Ovarian Cancer Research Center, headed by Dr. George Coukos (my mom’s doctor).

[Before I go on, let me just preface my next thoughts by stating how much I loved this hospital (so much so that I’ve made Penn Medicine my current healthcare provider for family medicine, etc.). The treatment was wonderful, the care was wonderful, and my mom and dad always came back with stories that made me feel like my mother was being truly cared for and cared about.  Dr. Coukos was the first doctor I felt comfortable allowing into my life without ever having met him. For more Dr. Coukos, take a look at his faculty profile page and view this video of him speaking at a 2010 Tea of Hope Breakfast (sponsored by the Ovarian Cancer National Alliance).]

I will never forget a conversation that took place between me and my father one day. I cannot remember how this came up, but we must have been talking about treatments, research, and/or funding for clinical trials. Regardless, the following words related to me by my father have haunted me for years:

“Joe, there’s just no money.”

No money for additional research, state-of-the-art care, clinical trials, etc. Straight from one of the top doctors in Philadelphia from 2007 – 2012 – they need money for research.

Granted, I admit I wasn’t there for the actual conversation but I know how heartbreaking this was to hear. The honest, raw truth about ovarian cancer funding and research, directly from the life-saving source.

It’s these stories that make us strong, and I welcome you to leave your comments, share this post, or write on Take Back Teal’s Facebook page and relate your story. There is strength in numbers and the more people who speak out means we have more opportunities to reach our goals! We need to put an end to these kinds of conversations.